How To Diagnose Multiple Sclerosis

Spread the love

Patients suffering from Multiple Sclerosis often show various signs and symptoms, therefore while diagnosing for the disease, it is important that it is rightly done. If you or anyone you know is suffering from any of the Multiple Sclerosis causes then first of all you must see a neurologist and if they recommend, only then should you proceed with further tests. The human body can show signs of Multiple Sclerosis due to numerous symptoms, but to confirm if it is Multiple Sclerosis or not observe closely. Two basic observations often made by patients suffering from Multiple Sclerosis include: at least two attacks with four weeks’ time in between. It can be in the form of appearance of a symptom or its worsening. The second criteria include presence of scars caused by Sclerosis. These scars appear in areas where the myelin sheath has been damaged. But make sure that the cause of the scares is not any other disease or infection.

MRI to diagnose Multiple Sclerosis

MRI known as Magnetic Resonance Imaging is one the ways to diagnose and detect any damage caused to the brain. Therefore it is an apt method to check if a patient is suffering from Multiple Sclerosis or not. What it does is that it detects the scars caused by Multiple Sclerosis in various parts of the central nervous system, mainly the brain and central nervous system. Many a times the scares can be caused due to some other reason, in such cases other test along with MRI are to be conducted before diagnosing that a patient is suffering from Multiple Sclerosis.

Other ways to diagnose Multiple Sclerosis

A physician can also diagnose if a person if suffering from Multiple Sclerosis or not. They can do so by checking the five senses of the person, as these are most likely to get affected. Next, they check for movement of limbs and coordination, they may evaluate your overall mental health; they can check your body balance and past history to deduce if a person is suffering from Multiple Sclerosis or not. In addition to clinical examination, some other tests that can be conducted in cases that are complicated include: diagnosis through study of electrical impulses in brain and their movement, the study of cerebrospinal fluid can also indicate if the person is suffering from an autoimmune disease and many more.

Types of Multiple Sclerosis

Once the patient is diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, it is then observed, which type of the disease they are suffering from, so that they can be treating accordingly. There are four types of Multiple Sclerosis and they differ in terms of the way it affects the body in due time. The types are: Relapsing-Remitting MS, Progressive Relapsing, Primary Progressive MS and Secondary Progressive MS. It is extremely important to begin with treatment as soon as you are diagnosed as the disease causes most damage during its initial year. See this post to find out more details.